The way it is.

For years I have been only pieces

Of who I was before.

Running away from the past,

Which I return to in the still of night.

Cannot help looking back,

When the present is only whispers,

Of what I used to have.

Imagining you here by my side,

Forgetting this time without you.

You hold the best of me in chains

From far away,

As I slowly crumble to ash.

Robbed of my dignity, my vivacity,

This world easily traps me in misery.

With each day as a reminder

That I should not love you,

But also that I do.

Leave a Reply

